Photo(s) of the Day 0007

Brandon with his Championship Trophy.
Brandon Kahler – 2014 Roundball Oracles Champion
I apologize for taking so long to reveal the champion of Year 10 of the Roundball Oracles. But I think my post college basketball season depression (or PCBSD as mental health professionals call it) was even greater this year than in years past. You know, something to do with having to play the “What If” game over and over and over again. Cyclone fans know what I’m talking about.

That being said, I’m proud that this is the first time in the storied 10 year history of the Roundball Oracles that somebody that shares my DNA has been able to hoist the unnamed championship trophy.

Past winners have included co-workers, high school locker partners, former roomies, father-in-laws, and once… even a woman!

So I’m excited this year that somebody with Bennett DNA coursing through their veins will be the reigning Roundball Oracles Champ! All is right in the world.

I know that there is a fair chance that you are wondering: “That is great, but I’d really like to know how some of my other favorite Oracles fared this year. I really root for Russell Kennerly. I like underdogs. He is like the Mid-Major of the Roundball Oracles.”*

So without further adieu, I present to you the final ranking of Year 10 of the Roundball Oracles!

Rank    Oracle Score    Correct    Champion Last Year
1. Brandon Kahler 255 40 Florida 18th
2. Michael Augustin 241 42 Florida 31st
3. Paul Golden 235 41 Michigan State DNP
4. Jordan Toot 228 39 Florida 9th
5. Jon DeWaard 224 39 Florida 5th
6. Mark Wolfram 222 38 Florida 8th
7. Lowell Davis 216 40 Florida DNP
8. Andree Jauhari 210 38 Iowa State 28th
9. Derrick Gorshe 208 38 Iowa State 14th
10. Carrie Baier 205 37 Michigan State 19th
11. Robert Henning 205 36 Florida 10th
12. Bill Wentworth 204 38 Florida 15th
13. Nate Miller 203 36 Iowa State DNP
14. Frank Meiners 201 38 Michigan State 11th
14. Jesse Howard 201 37 Kansas 3rd
16. Corey Faust 200 36 Iowa State 7th
17. Humble Narrator 196 36 Iowa State 33rd
18. William Mcalpine 196 38 Florida 1st
19. Angie DeWaard 191 35 Arizona 6th
20. Sean Clubine 189 36 Syracuse 13th
21. Carla Stensland 189 35 Iowa State DNP
22. Ben Baier 188 35 Arizona 32nd
23. Jackson Faust 185 36 Florida 16th
24. Michelle Haupt 181 35 Arizona 26th
25. Elizabeth Nordeen 181 35 Iowa State 21st
26. Russell Kennerly 180 34 Florida 24th
27. Olivia Baier 178 34 Arizona DNP
28. Jason Baier 175 35 Florida 24th
29. Tim Peterson 175 34 Iowa State 22nd
30. Becky Perkovich 175 35 Iowa State 27th
31. Shawn Lockner 173 33 Wisconsin 4th
32. J.J. Baier 164 24 Michigan 29th
33. Ryan Halvorson 163 33 Arizona 18th
34. Dawn Krause 149 32 Arizona 23rd
35. Will Baier 147 23 Iowa State 34th
36. Sara Lockner 143 28 Florida DNP


This year might have been the closest year ever. It literally came down to Wisconsin’s last second shot rimming in and out, giving Kentucky the victory in the Final Four. If that shot drops, Micky wins.

But the shot didn’t fall and Micky waits another year, while Brandon’s name is carved onto the List of Immortals!

Roundball Oracles Champions

2014 – Brandon Kahler
2013 – William McAlpine
2012 – Lowell Davis
2011 – Carrie Baier
2010 – Mark Wolfram
2009 – Mark Wolfram
2008 – Mark Wolfram
2007 – Tim Peterson
2006 – William McAlpine
2005 – William McAlpine

However, there is 1 more bit of business before I let you go about your merry business. In the pre-tournament post I indicated that I might create a travelling trophy. I am not doing that… at least not yet. I did award a trophy for last place this year. It is an experimental tradition. But I may in the future present a last place trophy to the lowest placing adult that gave full effort to win.

This year’s winner…

Sara with her last place trophy.
Sara Lockner… the Best Loser
I am already pumped for next season. I think the Cyclones will be even better next year and if they can make it through the tourney without an injury, I expect to see them in the Final Four next year. So I’ll be seeing you next year in Indianapolis!

*Inside joke that 3 people will get and 1 of them doesn’t even subscribe to this blog!

4 thoughts on “Photo(s) of the Day 0007”

  1. Yes on the CAPTCHA because if I don’t, I get large amounts of SPAM.

    It is the unfortunate state of the world we live in.

    I hope you do rise to greatness some day. I’m rooting for you next year.

    P.S. I’ll be taking the Cyclones to win it all again next year.

  2. It must mean that I’ve accomplished something, if I’m being accused of selling out!


Comments are closed.